Moving On To A new year

We need a better understanding of the stages of grief.

“Love is something we were sent here to do; that is our prime directive.” – Al Laws, Jr. #Advice4Life

2015, although another beautiful year, has come with its challenges and hurdles. Looking back, I wonder how some of us have been made it out alive! Some of us have experienced some changes, whether it was new jobs, losing loved ones, or moving to new places. Each change this year has come with its level of grief. Grief is the mental suffering over affliction or loss, sharp sorrow, or painful regret. We’ve all experienced it at one time or another. We were all broken once, and it’s our turn to help those who are in need.

To do that, we need a better understanding of the stages of grief.

1 Denial – your brain gathers your pain in sizable amounts that you can handle so that you give yourself little pieces of hope

2 Anger – you’re mad about the situation and what has happened, this is sensitive territory to be in since people act out hurtfully in anger

3 Bargaining – you find yourself negotiating with your pain

4 Depression – your immediately withdraw from other aspects of your life

5 Acceptance – you get to a place where you’re okay with what has happened

The goal is to get to the final stage of grief – acceptance. Acceptance that this is the situation and what has happened has happened. With significant changes, we must always remember to keep our minds and hearts grateful. That is how we can move from each stage and reach fulfillment. Grief is extremely hard to deal with, and everyone needs support in their way.

Let’s head into the year with hope and understanding, being a beacon of light to those who may be suffering. Let’s go into the new year with a mentality of gratefulness and forgiveness. Let’s make 2016 a great one!

Listen to the Advice4Life podcast here: christmas-show/ Copyright 2015 All Rights Reserved Al Laws Jr.

Get Through The Winter Blues

In all the joy and excitement of the holidays, we often forget that there are those of us who experience grief and depression due in part to many things. Sometimes our intention is for everyone else to have such a great Christmas that we get caught up in the stress of creating a perfect experience. Or maybe we’ve lost someone very close and dear to us around this time that we get trapped in the sadness of remembering this difficult time. Anger masks pain in most instances and we as human beings have the tendency to allow this anger to consume us. That is why we have new Christmas figures such as The Grinch and Ebenezer Scrooge.

But what did these storybook characters have in common? They were able to change their way of thinking after eye opening experiences. After the Grinch had stolen everything he thought made this holiday great, he still found the Who’s rejoicing, leaving the Grinch to mull over the concept that  “maybe Christmas is a little more…” Scrooge made himself and all those around him miserable, but when he his eyes were opened to change by the three spirits, he quickly took on a new meaning of Christmas.

We have to be able to change our mindset and learn how to appreciate what God has given us. In this holiday season, if we learn to be grateful, it will help us through some of the most difficult circumstances. Let’s change our way of thinking for the new year!

Listen to our holiday podcast here.